Complaints and Discpline
With few exceptions, the Board of Athletic Training has jurisdiction over licensed athletic trainers and persons who hold themselves out as athletic trainers in Arizona. The exceptions include but may not be limited to athletic trainers who are employed in the U.S. Armed Forces, U.S. Public Health Service or U.S. Veteran's Administration.
The Arizona Revised Statutes prescribe under what circumstances the Board may take disciplinary action against a licensee. But in order for the Board to fulfill this statutory requirement, it depends on the consumer or public to notify it when there is a potential violation of statutes.
A.R.S. § 32-4158 stipulates that “A person, licensee, corporation, educational institution, athletic organization or health care facility and state or local governmental agencies shall report to the board any conviction, determination or finding that a licensee has committed an act that constitutes grounds for disciplinary action pursuant to section 32-4153.” This statute goes on to state, “A person is immune from civil liability, whether direct or derivative, for providing information in good faith to the board pursuant to subsection A of this section.”
Substantive Policy Statement for Complaint Resolution
The Board, at its June 4, 2012 Board meeting, adopted a new Substantive Policy Statement. This new instruction provides to the Board the resolution options available to them for violations of A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 41, A.A.C. Title 4, Chapter 49 and or the Standards of Practice of Athletic Trainers, based upon the nature of the offense and the factual scenarios. For more details, see the full statement.
Arizona Administrative Code R4-49-208
A. As a prerequisite to renewal, a licensee shall complete at least 15 CEUs in the area of athletic training since the issuance of the previous license.
B. A licensee shall:
1. Maintain continuing education records that:
a. Verify the continuing education activities the licensee completed during the preceding two years, and
b. Consists of each statement of credit or certificate issued by an approved provider at the conclusion of a continuing education activity;
2. At the time of licensure renewal, attest to the number of CEUs the licensee completed during the renewal on the renewal form; and
3. When requested by the Board office, submit proof of continuing education participation within 20 days of the request.
C. Licensees may provide proof of continued BOC certification to meet the CEU requirements of this Section.
D. All licensees shall complete a course approved by the Board on the athletic training statutes and this Chapter within one year of obtaining an original license or license renewal. This course need only be taken one time.
E. In addition to the CEU requirements above, all licensees shall maintain current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation from a provider that is approved by the Board.
F. Upon written request to the Board 30 days prior to the license renewal date, the Board may waive a licensee’s continuing education requirement in the case of extreme hardship including, but not limited to, mental or physical illness, disability, absence from the United States, service in the United States Armed Forces or other extraordinary circumstances as determined by the Board.
G. The Board may audit a licensee’s continuing education records and suspend or revoke, according to A.R.S. §§ 32-4155 and 32-4156, the license of a licensee who fails to comply with continuing education completion, recording, or reporting requirements of this Section.
H. A licensee who is aggrieved by a decision of the Board concerning continuing education units may request an administrative hearing before the Board.